Skip to content

Good Friday


Here’s another great design from Jim LePage.

As I’ve long maintained, Good Friday is a recognition of the most important event in all of history.  In lieu of links this week, I’d like to share some meditations on the Stations of the Cross, thanks to our friends at Internet Monk.  I invite you to peruse them and ponder the length of the journey that brought Jesus to the cross on our behalf.  A ritual of praying these stations in succession can help to place the victory we celebrate on Sunday into proper context, preparing ours heart to pour out worship and gratitude when we exclaim that He is risen indeed.

  1. Jesus is condemned to die.
  2. Jesus receives His cross.
  3. Jesus falls the first time.
  4. Jesus sees His mother.
  5. Simon of Cyrene carries the cross.
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.
  7. Jesus falls the second time.
  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.
  9. Jesus falls the third time.
  10. Jesus is stripped of His garments.
  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross.
  12. Jesus dies on the cross.
  13. Jesus’ body is removed from the cross.
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.

Lastly, I’ll leave you with this post by Jeff Dunn, who captures so eloquently what I cannot in explaining why Good Friday is as important as it is and why it should not be overshadowed by the celebration it sets up the following Sunday.

From → [linkages], [ritual]

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: